The Day I’m Gonna Die – Original Song by Joshua Pettus

The Day I’m Gonna Die – Joshua Pettus – Original Song

A few weeks ago, I learned that I have an incurable and life threatening disease, called Polycystic Kidney Disease (PKD). At first I had some crazy thoughts and emotions going through me, that I wasn’t quite sure how to react. Now, I’ve had a few weeks to reflect on how this changes me and my life and I sat down and wrote this song this weekend. Finding out I have the same terrible disease that my mother and my grandfather died from is eye-opening. The interesting thing is that I’ve not been depressed about the news. I decided I wanted to address the latest feelings I’ve had in song, but in a “Booyah, suckas… I’m gonna live it up while I’m Here” kind of way. This may not be completely finished, but I still wanted to share in it’s current state. Sorry the camera stinks, and I make funny faces when I sing.

Here is a blog I wrote shortly after I received the diagnosis:
https://yourfriendlymormonneighbor.wordpress.com/2012/04/08/the-difference-between-life-death-and-polycystic-kidney-disease/

It’s called The Day I’m Gonna Die. Let me know what you think.

More thoughts and feelings of everything I’ve been learning during all of this will be coming soon.

Love to all,

Your Friendly Mormon Neighbor
Joshua Pettus

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Day I’m Gonna Die – Original Song by Joshua Pettus

  1. Rachael bangerter says:

    Joshua,
    Thanks for the song- it hits home since my husband was told exactly two years ago this week that he had two, maybe three years left to live unless he recieved a heart and double-lung transplant as a result of the heart defect and lung disease he’s been plagued with since birth. He’s always defied the odds and been healthier than expected, but that was a big blow. We were just dating at the time, and made the decision to get married the San Diego Temple just 8 weeks later. We’ve been blessed with miracles and my husband is doing ok now, and a transplant seems a ways off still, but your song and story remind me of how he feels each day. Your attitude is great and reminds me to have faith and keep going. We now volunteer with organ donation awareness programs in Salt Lake City, and have met peopel with PKD who have recieved kidney transplants or are anxiously awaiting their turn for one. I just wanted to drop a line to wish you well, and that we will add you and your family to our prayers.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for your words, and I hope you and your family are well. I have other songs I’ve written and posted on my YouTube account… Please feel free to check those out as well!

Leave a Reply

