Just For Fun – Girls’ Camp Songs

These are some REALLY great girls!

I recently went to our local girls’ camp for the Young Women in our church.  It was my first experience of being a leader at a camp, and it was, uuhh, interesting.  🙂  Despite the fact that I (sort of) slept on the floor of a tent, and many of my girls got sick, I really did enjoy spending time with them and being reminded of the good times I had when I was a young lass at camp.

As part of the camp experience, the girls are usually supposed to put on a skit.  This year they asked us to take a song and change the words to fit the year’s theme and present it.  I, um, well, I kinda took over because I love doing stuff like that.  I ended up writing two different songs.  The first one was liked by some, but the second was liked by all, so it’s what we went with.

See the cute owls? He makes my tag say "Helowl! My name is Sister Brown."

Our theme this year was O.W.L. (Only With Love).  There were lots of cute little owls everywhere, and it was a good reminder that whatever we do, we should do with love.

I thought I’d share the songs I wrote with you.  Feel free to use them for your own camp, talent shows, whatever you like.  Or don’t.  I don’t care.  🙂

The first one I came up with was to the song “I Won’t Say I’m in Love” from Disney’s Hercules.  You can watch it if you want.

Meg: If there’s a prize for rotten judgement
I guess I’ve already won that
I should not have said those rude words
That’s ancient history, been there, done that!

Muses: Who’d’ya think you’re kiddin’?
You love gossip, you love sinnin’.
Try to keep it hidden
Honey, we can see right through you

Girl, ya can’t conceal it
We know how ya feel and
What you’re thinking of

Meg: no chance, no way
I won’t say it no, no

Muses: You swear, you judge
why deny it, uh-oh

Meg:That’s too cliche
I’ll speak only with love

I thought my heart had learned its lesson
You feel so cool when you start out
My head is screaming get a grip, girl
Unless you’re dying to pour your heart out
Oh

Muses: You keep on denying
Who you are and how you’re feeling
Baby, we’re not buying
Hon, we saw, it’s not appealing
You are far from grown up
When ya gonna own up
That you, you, you are bad

Meg: whoa, No chance, no way
I won’t say it, no, no

Muses: Give up, you sin
You can’t speak with love

Meg: This scene won’t play
I’ll speak only with love

Muses: Get a grip, you can’t quit
You can’t love

Meg: You’re way off base
I won’t say it
Get off my case
I won’t say it

Muses: Girl, let’s be loud
It’s ok, you can’t love

Meg: oh
Inside and out
I’m filled only with love

I liked it, but I think it got booted because this next one was more exciting.  Our Camp Director suggested that we use “Single Ladies” by Beyonce.  It was, um, interesting to read the lyrics and try to come up with something camp appropriate, but here’s what I came up with.

Oh, and here’s the Chipette’s version of it because I feel weird putting Beyonce’s video on my church blog… haha

All my Mormon Ladies! (x7) Now put your hands up!

Up in the camp, feelin’ kinda damp
Sweatin’ like a little pig
Was feelin’ kinda low
But now I’m good, ya know
‘Cause another camper noticed me
She told me hi, gave me a five
And paid me lots of attention
Cause I cried my tears, like my first year
But now I’m filled with glee

When you love one another you’ll find joy in it
When you love one another you’ll find joy in it
Don’t be mad at the world and hate on it
When you love one another you’ll find joy in it
Woh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Woh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh

When you love one another you’ll find joy in it
When you love one another you’ll find joy in it
Don’t be mad at the world and hate on it
When you love one another you’ll find joy in it

I had a frown on my lips, hand on my hips
The saddest girl you ever did see
She came up, water in a cup
She cared about what I think
She’s going on a mission, did I mention
She paid me lots of attention
The spirit did burn
and I did learn
What it feels like to show charity 

When you love one another you’ll find joy in it
When you love one another you’ll find joy in it
Don’t be mad at the world and hate on it
When you love one another you’ll find joy in it
Woh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Woh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh

When you love one another you’ll find joy in it
When you love one another you’ll find joy in it
Don’t be mad at the world and hate on it
When you love one another you’ll find joy in it
Woh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Woh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh

Don’t treat me to the things of the world
I’m not that kind of girl
God’s love is what I prefer, what I deserve
She’s the friend who bakes cake
then takes it  and delivers it to my family, to seminary and beyond
Hugs me in her arms
Says I’m her number one
Before that, I felt alone
The holy ghost, in her shone 

All my Mormon Ladies (x7) Now put your hands up!

Woh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Woh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh

 When you love one another you’ll find joy in it
When you love one another you’ll find joy in it
Don’t be mad at the world and hate on it
When you love one another you’ll find joy in it

When you love one another you’ll find joy in it
When you love one another you’ll find joy in it
Don’t be mad at the world and hate on it
When you love one another you’ll find joy in it

Woh, oh, oh

We had a lot of fun practicing for it.  We even made up a fun dance routine. I think they got a little nervous and giggly when they got up there, but we didn’t have a whole lot of time to work on it beforehand.  I think it would’ve been pretty awesome had we been able to practice more.

I’d love to read some stuff you’ve done.  Feel free to post in the comments!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just For Fun – Girls’ Camp Songs

  1. Pingback: Just For Fun – LDS Girls’ Camp Song – The 2013 Version | Your Friendly Mormon Neighbor

  2. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is
    added I get three emails with the same comment. Is there any
    way you can remove me from that service? Thanks a lot!

  3. Everyone loves what you guys are up too. This
    sort of clever work and coverage! Keep up the fantastic
    works guys I’ve included you guys to my personal blogroll.

  4. First of all I would like to say awesome blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask
    if you don’t mind. I was curious to find out how you
    center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing.
    I’ve had difficulty clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there.
    I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be
    lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips?
    Kudos!

  5. Sweet blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do
    you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Cheers

    • I didn’t know they were showing our stuff there. That’s pretty cool! I honestly have no idea how it got there. Anyway, thanks for stopping by, and we hope you enjoy the blog.

Leave a Reply

