Welcome to Your Friendly Mormon Neighbor

Thanks so much for visiting our new blog.  I imagine the most polite thing to do, since we are neighbors after all, would be to introduce myself.  My name is Joshua Pettus.  My little sister and I decided several months ago to begin writing a blog together, but it wasn’t until just now we finally got off our backsides and decided to do something about it.  Her name is Johanna.  I’m sure she’ll want to introduce herself in a later post. 

For starters, I was born a Mormon, and I’ve been one my entire life.  I think what makes our blog’s perspective a bit different than most Latter-Day Saint blogs you’ll find out on the internet, is that we are born, raised, and deep-fried in the South.  I’m not from Utah, I didn’t go to school at BYU, and I have absolutely no desire to ever move out of the South.   This is my home.  My family settled this farm where our house sits in Rural North Alabama the mid-1800’s, and so our roots here run deep and true.  We belong here, and nowhere else would I ever be happy. 

My father came into contact with Mormon missionaries before I was born in the late 1970’s.  Apparently two missionaries were extremely lost one day, and stopped to ask directions.  My father had felt a lack of truth for years in the church they had been attending.  He recognized blatant differences between the doctrines taught in the Bible and the doctrine taught in their church.  Once the missionaries showed up, he was ready to listen to their story.  Even though everyone against joining the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, he eventually was baptised a member after reading the entire Book of Mormon while working maintenance at Ford Motor Company’s local factory.  A few months later, my mother was baptised, and our family has remained strong and united in our faith ever since.

Growing up as one of the few Mormons in a community packed full of Baptists, members of the Church of Christ, and Methodists was interesting.  I’ve known many who respectfully ask questions, and others who inconsiderately tease.  I’ve shared my beliefs with countless friends over the years, and hopefully in the end they have at least come to better understanding about who we are and what we really represent.  While preachers and pastors of other faiths in our community have spoken loudly against our faith with twisted tales and half-truths, those who know our family’s real values have stood up on our behalf to set the record straight.  I thank all my friends who have done so, and hope they know I would do the same for them.

More than anything, this blog will be an introduction and a dialogue of what we believe and why we believe it.  We understand we’re quite the minority where we live, and hope that through this blog understanding on all sides may be gained, and a common and mutual respect might bloom.  While this blog is not an official blog of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and what we write should not be considered official statements by or on behalf of the church, we do hope that we will become ambassadors of what we have learned to be true through many years of prayer, study, and practice. 

Please feel free to comment, ask questions, and answer questions along the way.  We do reserve the right to screen all comments in order to make sure everyone plays nice and there isn’t any usage of trashcan words here.  We can’t allow any potty mouths or dingbats to ruin the place for everyone else.   

So, please enjoy what we will be doing here.  Hopefully we will learn, grow, and be edified together. 

Thanks!

Joshua Pettus

Your Friendly Mormon Neighbhor

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

